Gmail change means faster images, fewer clicks, less risk, says Google

gmail logo

If you’re sick of clicking on those “display images below” links in your email, you’ll probably like the change Google just initiated for Gmail.

The reason for those clicks is that until now, those images were served from third-party servers. But now they will be cached and scanned on Google’s secure proxy servers, Google said on a blog post Thursday. Gmail product manager John Rae-Grant explained the user impact:

So what does this mean for you? Simple: your messages are more safe and secure, your images are checked for known viruses or malware, and you’ll never have to press that pesky “display images below” link again.

Here’s the before:

gmail1

Here’s the after:

gmail2

Over at Ars Technica Ron Amadeo pointed to a plausible ulterior motive. When people download images from those third-party servers, they’ll get the image but also they give all those third-party servers lots of information about themselves. This change means those outside marketers will get less of that info since Google is caching, scanning and scrubbing those images before serving them up to the recipients. In essence, Google is inserting itself in the middle of that information flow.

Amadeo wrote:

“There’s also a bonus side effect for Google: e-mail marketing is advertising. Google exists because of advertising dollars, but they don’t do e-mail marketing. They’ve just made a competitive form of advertising much less appealing and informative to advertisers. No doubt Google hopes this move pushes marketers to spend less on e-mail and more on AdSense.”

Oh, if you want to keep the warnings and the clicking, you can authorize image display on a per-message basis, but you have to make that change under your settings tab.

loading

Comments have been disabled for this post