Watch NASA Bomb the Moon Online!

Update: The video is in, but it doesn’t live up to our expectations.

Like something out of a ’50s sci-fi movie (with a little Kubrick thrown in), tomorrow NASA is going to BOMB THE MOON. Nothing more awesome will happen this year, and you can watch the whole thing online.

After slingshotting around the Earth, the Centaur rocket will smash into the moon, “transforming 2200 kg of mass and 10 billion joules of kinetic energy into a blinding flash of heat and light. Researchers expect the impact to throw up a plume of debris as high as 10 km,” writes NASA.

Following that will be the LCROSS mothership, which will photograph the collision and fly into the debris, gathering data all the while.

Why are we bombing the moon? Something, something, water, something, organic molecules something, no-good moon men. Okay, NASA didn’t mention moon men, but who cares? We are BOMBING THE MOON. (Reminder: nothing more awesome will happen this year).

So how do you watch us pummel a defenseless moon? You can catch all the action on NASA TV. From the press release:

LCROSS Lunar Impact
7:31 a.m. EDT/4:31 a.m. PDT
Friday Oct. 9

A live NASA TV Broadcast is planned for the LCROSS impacts starting at 6:15 a.m. EDT/3:15 a.m. PDT, Oct. 9, on NASA TV and www.nasa.gov/ntv.

The 1.5 hour broadcast includes:

  • Live footage from spacecraft camera
  • Real-time telemetry based animation
  • Views of LCROSS Mission and Science Operations
  • Broadcast commentary with expert guests
  • Prepared video segments
  • Views of the public impact viewing event at NASA Ames

Possible live footage from the University of Hawaii, 88-inch telescope on Mauna Kea.

The live LCROSS Post-Impact News Conference will be 10 a.m. EDT/7 a.m. PDT on NASA TV and http://www.nasa.gov/ntv.

Elsewhere, the astronomy site, Slooh, which provides access to two honkin’ earth-based telescopes, is dropping its normal fee to allow users to watch the LCROSS impact as well.

loading

Comments have been disabled for this post