jkOnTheRun review- Batterygeek PowerPack 130 external battery

24 Comments

There is nothing worse for me than running out of battery juice when I am mobile.  To help prevent that I have two standard batteries for my HP tc1100 Tablet PC which gets me between 6 and 7 hours of total battery life with power management set to be gentle on the battery.  This is OK when I am out on short trips and meetings but I knew that I would be having 10 and 12 hour sessions at the MVP Summit so I looked for alternative solutions.  I only had to look as far as the PowerPack 130 external battery from Batterygeek.net.  Due to delivery delays caused by Hurricane Rita my delivery was delayed by UPS and I didn’t get the 130 before leaving for Seattle so the good folks at Batterygeek shipped one overnight to my hotel in Seattle and it was waiting for me when I checked in.

My 130 came fully charged which was a nice touch and I set out to use it right away to get some work done on my Tablet PC in the hotel room.  The PowerPack 130 comes with 9 connector tips and choosing the right one for my HP was simple.  The battery is smaller than I thought it would be for such a powerful battery (8 x 4.75 x .75 inches, 2 lbs.) and it comes with an attached cord to hook up to the laptop or Tablet PC once the connector tip is plugged in.  It also comes with an AC adapter to recharge the 130.

Pp130

When I connected the PowerPack 130 for the first time the internal battery on my Tablet PC was at slightly less than 40% because I used it on the flight to Seattle.  The beauty of this external battery is how it recharges the internal battery while also powering the Tablet PC.  The notebook or Tablet sees the battery as an external power source so most people will want to adjust their power management settings to maximize the life of the external battery but in this case I did not as I wanted to see how long the 130 would last.  During my marathon work session the 130 recharged my internal battery to 100% and ran for 6.5 hours before the low battery light came on.  This life is phenomenal since my power management was set to never dim the monitor nor cycle down the hard drive.  With good power management settings I could see getting over 8 hours out of the 130 easily.  It is thin so it fits handily in my backpack with my other gear and I hardly know it’s there.  Now I never have to look for a power outlet when I am in extended meetings and it is so liberating.  At a four hour work session at the Summit today the guy sitting next to me was using one of those big external batteries that is the size of a laptop and sat underneath his convertible Tablet PC.  He was very impressed with the PowerPack 130 because it is so much smaller than his battery and costs slightly over half what he paid for it.

The PowerPack 130 has a “fuel gauge” bank of LEDs on the top of the unit that light up when you push the TEST button so you can quickly determine the remaining charge at any time.  When the unit charge gets low a red LED lights up and a low warning sound emits from the integrated speaker.  I estimate that with my two HP batteries and the 130 I can get over 15 hours of continual use!  Now that’s true mobile tech.

The PowerPack 130 is available on the Batterygeek web site for $189 and comes standard with a 30 day return policy and a 1 year warranty.  I am extremely pleased with the Batterygeek PowerPack 130.

24 Comments

Paul

Can anyone give me an update on Batterygeek.us. I ordered a battery from them, took 44 days before I received it, was not the same as described on their website, did not perform as stated, did not include the extras as promised. I returned it for a refund – No refund, no response from Batterygeek.us. Even PayPal did not get a response when they contacted Batterygeek.us on my behalf. I am out $124+. Does anyone know what is going on with Batterygeek.us?

Stan Pink

I would stay away from Battery Geek. The worst customer service. Check out Tekkeon battery packs. I ordered two from newegg and has been working out well for my Asus netbook and cell phone.

James Kendrick

That review is almost 4 years old. We cannot predict what may happen with any company we cover and this is no different. Sorry to hear those of you are having problems.

Atari Baby

I’m also skeptical of the Melissa Murray story. She refuses to state anything on her site, which is identical to Sean Murray’s site, and she also posts no phone number on the site. I asked her about it and she said she was so broke she couldn’t afford a telephone line. Vonage is 24 dollars a month. I wonder if this is a true story, that he left her broke and forced to compete, or if this is another game they are playing to shift blame. One of them does heavy business on ebay now.

Atari Baby

I’m also curious to know if you found a competitor product that you’re satisfied with.

Atari Baby

I have a feeling the author of this post still recommends people buy from this guy :P

Stan, I can be reached at jkontherun at xgregoryx dot com

(that’s a disposable email address hence the odd username)

I would be extremely grateful if you would give me advice such as the exact contact information you used when filing your complaint. I’ve tried to work with this guy since December and am fed up.

Stan

I ordered from them in July, 2008 and I’m still trying to get a refund for my Oct., 2008 purchase they failed to ship. I had to file three BBB complaint and received a refund for two orders but in process for the third. This has been a nightmare for me. I’m sure the battery pack works well once you receive it in a timely manner. I have been more than patient with them; I waited over three months before asking for a refund. It has taken over 6 months before the first refund. If you want to take a chance and see if they’ll ship it right away but I’d advice against it. If you do, hopefully, you’ll have better luck with them.

Batteries from them may be good but their customer service is more than lacking!

Atari Baby

Readers are warned to do a google search before doing business with this company. The service and support has dropped to a dismal level. This is now a shady company to do business with.

Melissa Murray

I just can’t let him stand there and pretend that he was the only one, I helped him become a millionaire and I won’t let him get away with stepping all over me. I currently have a business attorney and a divorce lawyer and I won’t give up until justice is served. Unfortunately, even though I have a carbon copy of our store, it may take me a fews years worth of marketing and SEO work to be able to compete with him properly. Until then he is living like a King with “OUR” money. The store is the money maker that he locked me out of…and heck it is “our company”. The sad part is I will have to go bankrupt soon, just to be able to hold onto one of my homes. He won’t take care of his wife or daughter and is now playing hard ball. All on account of what? greed? I have no idea what he has against me after all I have done for him. I try to move on but, to pick up the pieces will take a long time.

Cody B

Ouch, sorry Melissa. Hopefully you can get something back through a legal channel.

Melissa Bostick

Sean Murray is a lier on many occasions. He stole my website and my life. I had to make a new website called batterygeek.us because he ran off with our business bank account and he totally destroyed my credit after working along side of him for the past five years. I currently hold the patent rights for our CPAP batteries for example but, instead I now have nothing to show for.

His soon to be ex,

Melissa A. Murray

Ryan

I know this is quite an old article but I’m quite curious how the unit holds up after more then a year or so of hard use? I’m planning to get one and would like to get some feedback from veteran owners of the product.

Ryan

I know this is quite an old article but I’m quite curious how the unit holds up after more then a year or so of hard use? I’m planning to get one and would like to get some feedback from veteran owners of the product.

sean

Here’s our updated return policy:

Return Policy

1. All products purchased through us within 30 days can be returned for a refund or exchange. There will be a 20% restocking fee for all money back requested returns. For all money back requested returns, items returned in damaged, scratched or worn condition or missing any parts will have an additional 20% restocking fee however we reserve the right to refuse any returns that are in a damaged condition caused by any misuse or mishandling.. There is no restocking fee for exchanges or in-store credits. There is no restocking fee for customers who were specifically recommended by us a battery model which was unable to function with their device due to verified compatibility issues. We will directly refund to your credit card or PayPal account after receiving your return within 30 days of receiving your return. The only reason we have a restocking fee is to protect our company from customers who try using us as a battery rental service. Years ago we tried not having any restocking fee however there were too many customers who would end up buying our battery just for their trip and then right after using it on their trip they would end up returning it to us only because they were finished using it. It is not as easy for us to sell a used battery and our company ends up losing too much money this way. If you buy a digital camera at Circuit City and return it they have a 25%-30% restocking fee and if the camera is scratched chances are they will not even accept your return request. The reason they do this is for the same reason, to protect themselves from customers who try to use them as a digital camera rental service.

2. Defective products under warranty can be returned for warranty service. All products purchased through us have a one year limited warranty.

You can also view our updated return policy at: http://www.batterygeek.net/returnpolicy.asp

sean

It’s only 80% satisfaction guaranteed for customers who try to use us as a battery rental service. I understand your point of view Tuxido however the only reason we have a restocking fee is to avoid customers who try using us as a battery rental service. Years ago we tried not having any restocking fee however there were too many customers who would end up buying our battery just for their trip and then right after they would end up returning it to us just because they didn’t think they would be using it anymore. It is not as easy for us to sell a used battery and our company ends up losing too much money this way. There is no restocking fee for customers who are unable to get our battery to function with their device due to compatibility issues. If you buy a digital camera at Circuit City and return it they have a 25%-30% restocking fee and if the camera is scratched chances are they will not even accept your return request. The reason they do this is for the same reason, to protect themselves from customers who try to use them as a digital camera rental service.

Sean Murray
Founder & CEO
Battery Geek Inc.
Lake Oswego, Oregon
http://www.batterygeek.net

Tuxido

I must make a seriously condemning comment here–especially after reading the previous comment from Sean M. Murray, the BatterySpace.com’s founder and CEO:

BatteryGeek.net offers a

“>> 100% Satisfaction Guarantee”

If you follow the link the following statement is encountered:

“Batterygeek.net – 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
At Batterygeek.net, we want you to be 100% satisfied with your purchase. If for any reason you are not satisfied with your purchase, you may return it for a replacement or refund of the purchase price. We even stand behind our delivery. If your package is not delivered when we said it would, then the shipping is free. Have questions about our products? Email us and we’ll get the information for you.
Also, you can be sure your order is secure. Our checkout process is equipped with the latest technology to help protect against any fraudulent activity.
Any questions, please don’t hesitate to contact us via email or call us toll free at 1-866-466-6122.

For callers outside the US and Canada, please call 503-922-1917.

European customers can reach us at our UK phone at 0203-002-0494.”

Following their return policy link discloses another story:

“Return Policy
1. All products purchased through us within 30 days can be returned for a refund or exchange. There will be a 20% restocking fee for all money back requested returns. For all money back requested returns, items returned in damaged, scratched or worn condition or missing any parts will have an additional 20% restocking fee. We reserve the right to refuse any returns that are in a damaged condition caused by any misuse or mishandling. We will directly refund to your credit card or PayPal account after receiving your return within 30 days of receiving your return.
2. Defective products under warranty can be returned for warranty service. All products purchased through us have a one year limited warranty.”

Here are the links if need further evidence:

http://www.batterygeek.net/satisfaction.asp

http://www.batterygeek.net/returnpolicy.asp

20% of 499.99USD (The price of their Portable Power Station” does not seem to 100% “Satisfaction Guaranteed.”) is a return of 399.99: You are not satisfied and they keep 100USD of what you paid.

Why not state 80% Satisfaction Guaranteed?

If it were not for these inconsistencies, I would certainly buy one of their Power Stations.

Please correct any errors I may have made.

Sean M. Murray

Dear jkOnTheRun Fans,

We really care about our customers. As a result, maintaining superior customer experience remains one of the most important issues for us. As part of our ongoing dedication to our customers satisfaction we have recently hired a great guy named Jimmie who is our new and highly valued client support specialist from Texas. I personally guarantee your complete satisfaction with any of our products and services or your money back period. If any of our customers are not happy with something then they can simply email us at sales[at]batterygeek[dot]net or as a last resort send an e-mail to me directly at sean[at]batterygeek[dot]net for the fastest possible resolution. Please note that Mr. Harrison was offered a full money back guarantee a long time ago even long after his 30 days return policy expired however he chose to keep his batterygeek battery pack. Regarding Mr. Harrison, Battery Geek is still happy to talk with him as a customer.

Happy Holidays to all with Best Regards,

Sean M. Murray
Founder & CEO
Battery Geek Inc.
Lake Oswego, Oregon
http://www.batterygeek.net

jk

Molly, this review was written over a month before signing Batterygeek as a podcast sponsor. I pursued them as a sponsor because I came to like the company and their products. Nothing to disclose.

Phillip Molly Malone

HI JK,
In the interest of transparency, should you mention that one of your shows/websites is sponsored by these guys? Not saying it effected your reveiw but its good to be transparent.
Molly

Joe

Thanks for the interesting review JK. Glad to hear that i’m not the only one. I have been running this PowerPack 130 battery model with my IBM ThinkPad for some time now and I have been very pleased with it so far. It gives my ThinkPad a massive amount of run time compared to the minimal amount my internal IBM battery gives me. Also, I did alot of research before I decided to do business with batterygeek.net and discovered that this company offers a very high amount of capacity with some attractive warranty protection for a very reasonable price.

Cheers,
Joe

Fernando

I’ve had the Batterygeek 130 for about 6 months now, and it is great. Charges pretty fast and is farily easy to carry around; a must for long days out.

Comments are closed.