13 Comments

Summary:

Be careful what you share: Snapchat’s latest update allows users to rewatch one snap a day.

Snpachat replay menu
photo: Gigaom

Snapchat quietly updated its iOS and Android apps over the weekend, bringing a host of new features. And among the new filters, font and front-facing flash is a new function that many Snapchatters might find a bit troubling: Replay.

Snapchat replay

Just how does it work? Exactly as it sounds. Replay allows Snapchat users to replay one snap every 24 hours. In order to access the feature, you’ll need to install the update and navigate your way to the Manage Additional Services menu. From there you can turn the feature on. But by turning it on, it only means that you’ll be able to replay snaps. You’re not given the option to decide if recipients can replay the snaps you send — that permission is granted by default, and there’s no way to change it.

I can see how this feature can be helpful at times, like when you can’t quite hear what’s being said in a message. Ultimately, though, this seems counterintuitive to the idea of Snapchat, adding a bit of permanence to a technology built on ephemerality.

I didn’t really feel like this when the company introduced its Stories function back in October, allowing you to create a 24-hour vanishing timeline. But that’s because you’re able to opt into or out of Stories. With Replay, you can’t decide whether you want someone to replay your snaps, and you don’t receive notification that they’ve been replayed, either. I’m curious to see if this is a feature that sticks around for long.

That said, if you ever want to share something private, a good general rule is to keep it off of the internet in the first place. But for everyone else out there with nothing to hide, the update can be downloaded now from Apple’s App Store and Google Play.

Update: The FTC says Snapchat’s claim that photos “disappear forever” are false, and also accused the company of violating privacy and security standards. It announced a settlement on May.

  1. Mhmmm, helping me get my creep on.

    Share
  2. Actually there is a notification about replay. One of mine was replayed and it told me, like it does when a snap is screenshotted.

    Share
  3. How do you replay it

    Share
  4. Stop me if i’m wrong, hasent snapchat already stated once the snap is opened by a person, its deleted forever.. how are you able to replay a snap then? do they still store them after they are opened?. hmmmm

    Share
    1. There’s a short window of time after you open it. It still goes away quickly.

      Share
    2. They are not deleted forever. After the snap has been opened the picture has an extension added to it (.### or something) which hides the picture. However you can find the pics if you access the phone via a laptop.

      Share
  5. You do receive a notification saying they replayed it though

    Share
  6. Right… But do you hold it down or double tap it or what?

    Share
  7. I’ve just deleted my account, will people still be able to replay my snaps now?

    Share
  8. I’m 15 an snapchat is kinda my thing. When you replay a snap it sends a notification and it will show up in your history as instead of opened. Replay will appear. Its not truly dangerous. Theres no trace of it

    Share
  9. Personally, I can’t say i’m comfortable with this. The beauty of snapchat was that “once its gone its gone”. I think this will make people much less likely to send naughty pictures to each other!

    Share
    1. Yulissa Balsamo Thursday, February 27, 2014

      Welp, considering “Quiet, Quick way to send naughty pics to each other” is not their mission statement that truly sounds like a personal problem.

      Share
  10. I got a snapchat 2 days ago i tried to replay it and it wont. I have the feature tunred on? What do i do

    Share

Comments have been disabled for this post