2 Comments

Summary:

Erotic e-books are getting a lot of attention lately, particularly following a seven-figure deal for the Twilight-inspired trilogy 50 Shades…

Sisters In Sin
photo: Mischief Books

Erotic e-books are getting a lot of attention lately, particularly following a seven-figure deal for the Twilight-inspired trilogy 50 Shades of Grey. Now HarperCollins UK’s Avon division is launching “Mischief,” a new series of erotica and erotic romance e-books.

Mischief begins in the UK with thirteen original titles, most priced at £1.99, ($3.11) along with a selection of “bestselling modern and vintage classics, brought back especially for e-readers.”

In other words: Yes, Fanny Hill — first published in England in 1748, and likely the dirtiest book you will ever read in a college English course — is here, with a new cover and the tagline “What’s a penniless country girl to do in the big city?”

Over 40 percent of romance titles are bought in digital form, publishing research firm Bowker’s Kelly Gallagher tells the WSJ. Gallagher says digital sales of erotica, a romance subset, are even higher.

Mischief will publish four new titles each month, spanning “BDSM, female domination, paranormal fantasy, illicit encounters, kinky fetishes, everyday thrills and extraordinary adventures.”

When Mischief officially launches on March 27, Avon will sell the e-books directly through its website as well as through Amazon (NSDQ: AMZN) and Apple (NSDQ: AAPL). The e-books will be available in the U.S. later this year.

You’re subscribed! If you like, you can update your settings

  1. These are supposedly directed at a female audience. In bondage? Blindfolded? In a pose of complete submission? Will the feminists give this a free pass, will they be afraid to be seen as conservative bluenoses? It will be very interesting to see how this plays out.

  2. I hope this trend continues.. I could care less what people think about it.. saying it is degrading, promotes rape etc gimme a break its a BOOK! Have you ever watched porn before?! If by your standards that books promote these ideals then all delivery men, plumbers, mechanics, pool boys, bosses, secretaries and those alike must all be sex addicts. Geez, people. They are books.. if you do not like them, do not read them. There are people out there who enjoy BDSM, S&M, and w.e else there is out there who are you to tell them anything especially since they are not out there flaunting it in your face.. we’re just reading.

Comments have been disabled for this post