Summary:

While the stakes for this election might not be quite as high as they were in 2008, any political junkie knows that this year’s results could have a major impact on national and local politics — and there are plenty of options for watching the action online.

election day poll closings

Updated: While the stakes for this year’s midterm elections might not be quite as high as they were in 2008, any political junkie knows that the 2010 election results could have a major impact on national, as well as local, politics. It’s an exciting year, and there are plenty of options for following the action online.

On a national level, CNN will begin its official live election coverage online Tuesday at 7:00 p.m. ET/4:00 p.m. PT, when the polls begin closing, on live.cnn.com as well as the CNN iPhone app. According to an emailed release, the live stream will include various acceptance/concession speeches, and will run to at least 1:00 a.m. ET/10:00 p.m. PT.

If you prefer your politics with a little Roger Ailes flair, Fox News will also begin its coverage at 7:00 p.m. ET/4:00 p.m. PT, and has already posted a video guide to this year’s election that breaks down some of the most contested races.

MSNBC is also in the game with live NBC News coverage, beginning at 9:00 p.m. ET/6:00 p.m. PT, that will be embeddable on Facebook as well as in a Twitter feed (when a tweet is viewed on the new Twitter.com). The site will also host a multi-cam web chat for those with web cams, in partnership with Watchitoo.

Update: Those who want updates en Español can check out Univision’s live coverage, which will begin at 9:00 p.m. ET/6:00 p.m. PT with a half-hour web-only Noche de Elecciones special.

Because this year is a midterm year, that means the contests most Americans will be interested in following will be on a local level. However, if you live in Texas or Illinois, you probably have a better idea than I do of what outlets will be focusing on the ballot measures or congressional races affecting your local area (also, finding local news options for all 50 states sounds exhausting).

However, I did find that a number of the websites for ABC-owned affiliates stream their local news coverage as well as national broadcasts. That means that in California, San Francisco residents can tune into KGO’s coverage starting at 5:00 p.m. PT while Angelenos can visit KABC-TV. There are also sister stations in New York, Philadelphia, Chicago, Houston, and North Carolina.

How are you following this year’s election? Any good solutions we missed here? Let us know in the comments!

Related GigaOm Pro Content (subscription required):

You’re subscribed! If you like, you can update your settings

Comments have been disabled for this post