2 Comments

Summary:

Sundance has been the mecca of the indie film world for more than three decades. The festival, which was co-founded by Robert Redford, was a launch pad for unlikely blockbusters like Clerks, Napoleon Dynamite and Little Miss Sunshine. Of course, not everyone is able to venture […]

Sundance has been the mecca of the indie film world for more than three decades. The festival, which was co-founded by Robert Redford, was a launch pad for unlikely blockbusters like Clerks, Napoleon Dynamite and Little Miss Sunshine. Of course, not everyone is able to venture out to the beehive state for ten days to watch countless movie premieres and events with high-profile industry insiders, which is why the Sundance Institute is starting to make a few of these events available online in real time.

Sundance is cooperating with Ustream for live streams from the festival. It will stream the opening day press conference with founder Robert Redford and festival director John Cooper on Thursday, followed by a accoustic live concert on Saturday as well as a number of awards ceremonies during the following days. Check below for the full program.

Thursday, January 21st: Opening Day Press Conference with Founder Robert Redford and Festival Director John Cooper; 1:00 p.m. PST/ 2:00 p.m. MST/ 4:00 EST. 45 minute to 60 minute live stream from the Egyptian Theatre in Park City, Utah.

Sunday, January 24: Composers Night Concert at the Sundance House; 7:30 p.m. PST/ 8:30 p.m. MST/ 11:30 p.m. EST. 60 minute to 90 minute live stream from the Sundance House Presented by HP in Park City, Utah.

Tuesday, January 26: Official Short Film Awards Party; 7:00 p.m. PST/ 8:00 p.m. MST/ 11:00 p.m. EST. 90 minute to 120 minute live stream from the Jupiter Bowl in Park City, Utah.

Thursday January 28: Breakfast with the Filmmakers of NEXT; 9:00 a.m. PST/ 10 a.m. MST/ noon EST. 45 minute to 60 minute live stream from theSundance Film Festival Online Production Studios at Silver Star in Park City, Utah.

Saturday January 30: Official Closing Night Awards Ceremony; 7:00 p.m. PST/ 8:00 p.m. MST/ 11:00 p.m. EST. 90 minute to 120 minute live stream from the Racquet Club Theatre in Park City Utah.

One should also note that while the film premieres won’t be streamed live — for obvious reasons — the festival site is featuring a ton of short interviews with film makers that are worth checking out as well.

You’re subscribed! If you like, you can update your settings

  1. Sundance Marks Dawn of Pay per Stream Era | Streaming « After the Transition Monday, January 25, 2010

    [...] is making some non-film premiere events available to live streaming courtesy of Ustream.  NewTeeVee put out a schedule on where to watch, last week. And you have options, [...]

  2. SUNDANCE INSTITUTE ANNOUNCES 13 PROJECTS FOR 2010 JUNE DIRECTORS AND SCREENWRITERS LABS | Binside TV Monday, April 26, 2010

    [...] Where To Watch the Sundance Film Festival Online (newteevee.com) [...]

Comments have been disabled for this post