1 Comment

Summary:

The White House continues to push video technology as a way to reach online citizens, now opening up live video chats with Obama administration officials on a number of topics, including discussions on clean energy, foreign policy, and health care. The chats integrate with Facebook and […]

The White House continues to push video technology as a way to reach online citizens, now opening up live video chats with Obama administration officials on a number of topics, including discussions on clean energy, foreign policy, and health care. The chats integrate with Facebook and allow anyone to ask questions, although not all of them will be answered. (Hat tip to Online Video Watch for pointing it out.)

The administration kicked off the series of video chats last Thursday, over a discussion of national security with Denis McDonough, the National Security Council chief of staff. But the chats will continue this week with Carol Browner, director of the Office of Energy and Climate Change Policy, Obama foreign policy aid Ben Rhodes, Health and Human Services Secretary Kathleen Sebelius, and Council of Economic Advisors Chair Christina Romer (schedule below).

The chats are just the latest in an ongoing effort by the administration to use online video to reach American citizens. Obama’s inauguration drew millions of viewers online, and the president has live-streamed key addresses to U.S. citizens and lawmakers, including the news conference following his first 100 days in office. The president also makes his weekly address available online through WhiteHouse.gov.

Schedule of live chats

Jan. 11, 2010 3:30 p.m. EST / 12:30 p.m. PST
Open for Questions: The Year in Clean Energy
Carol Browner takes your questions

Jan. 12, 2010 3 p.m. EST / 12 p.m. PST
Open for Questions: The Year in Foreign Policy
Ben Rhodes takes your questions on progress in foreign policy

Jan. 13, 2010 12 p.m. EST / 9 a.m. PST
Open for Questions: The Year in Health Care
HHS Secretary Kathleen Sebelius takes your questions on progress in the area of health care

Jan. 15, 2010 1 p.m. EST / 10 a.m. PST
Open for Questions: The Year in Jobs and the Economy
CEA Chair Christina Romer takes your questions

  1. [...] session won’t be held on WhiteHouse.gov, where the administration recently rolled out a series of live video chats with senior officials. Indeed, the YouTube event is just the latest in an ongoing effort by the [...]

    Share

Comments have been disabled for this post