3 Comments

Summary:

Though even glam and overproduced awards ceremonies often require a Kanye or a Sacha Baron Cohen to liven things up, the Nobel Prize has the benefit of being the most prestigious award in the world. And this week you can watch live on YouTube as the […]

Though even glam and overproduced awards ceremonies often require a Kanye or a Sacha Baron Cohen to liven things up, the Nobel Prize has the benefit of being the most prestigious award in the world. And this week you can watch live on YouTube as the Nobel Prizes for 2009 in chemistry, literature, peace and economics (medicine and physics were Monday and Tuesday) are announced.

YouTube has only dabbled in live-streaming for events such as the Outside Lands music festival and an Obama press conference. This marks the site’s first live European stream.

Though there’s certainly some anticipation about who will receive the Nobel Prizes, the real live-streaming action could be in December, when recipients will give lectures in the lead-up to the big ceremony and banquet. YouTube hasn’t said if it will live-stream the later Nobel events, though it has put some work into building out a dedicated Nobel channel.

The upcoming announcements are chemistry (tomorrow at 11:45 a.m. CET), literature (Oct. 8 at 1 p.m. CET), peace (Oct. 9 at 11 a.m. CET) and economics (Oct. 12 at 1 p.m. CET). If you’re like me and on the West Coast of the U.S., that means they’ll be happening in the late evening.

  1. Darryl Morris Tuesday, October 6, 2009

    CET (Central European Time) is currently two hours ahead of GMT, or five hours ahead of Eastern Time in the US. So, the Nobel Prize for Literature announcement will take place at 1 pm CET, which is 11 am GMT, 6 am Eastern Time US, and 3 am Pacific Time US on Thursday. That is the earliest time that the award will be announced; last year the announcement of the Literature Prize came closer to 7 am Eastern Time US.

    Share
  2. Darryl Morris Tuesday, October 6, 2009

    Sorry; I should have said that CET is 7 hours ahead of Eastern Time US, as GMT is 5 hours ahead of Eastern Time US. The times of the announcement I posted should be correct.

    Share
  3. AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA

    SACHA BARON COHEN IS DE BEST!

    Share

Comments have been disabled for this post